Skip to content

Sprucing up

FullSizeRender

27 weeks pregnant

Do you ever feel like you need a pop of color in your life?  I like to think that we live a very colorful life with our saucy red couch, energizing yellow office, and calming green bedroom wall.  But sometimes it’s not enough.  After three days of heavy snow, we made a team effort to shovel our way our of the house.  While I was working on the front porch, I noticed that our Christmas/New Year wreath was still up and looking a little tired.

With the Super Bowl coming up (actually, it’s today – go Broncos!) and spring on it’s way, I thought I’d remove all of the sparkly acorns and pinecones from the wreath and start fresh.  I went through my art supplies locker and found some leftover white flowers, green raffia, and green wire from a bridal crown that I made for a friend back in 2014 (pictured below).

FullSizeRender-2

Then I headed out to the grocery store (at 27 weeks pregnant, a girl needs provisions to sustain her through these projects!) and to the Michael’s, where I picked up three stems of orange peonies.  Once I got back home and ate one of the nitrate-free bratwursts and nearly all of the fresh raspberries that I’d just bought at Whole Foods, I arranged the peonies at the bottom of the wreath.  I just poked the stems through, bent them to the shape of the wreath along the back side, and wrapped some raffia around the stems to hold them in place.  Once I’d secured the peonies, I shoved their leaves here and there to frame the peonies.  On top of the leaves, which I secured in the same way as before with the raffia, I added and tied down the white flowers as accents.

I didn’t need the green wire or flower tape (pictured above the wreath in the picture below), but you could use them to double and triple reinforce heavy flowers and a flimsier wreath.  I’ll save the wire, tape, and old wintery wreath decorations for another project.  How cute would it be to use the sparkly acorns and pinecones on Christmas gifts later on?

 

Leave a comment